Fitzroy 3065: Trippy Taco

I went to Trippy Taco on Sunday with 2 acquaintances and left with heart burn and a truckers arm.

We wait for half an hour for an obnoxious group of individuals, who probably live in Fitzroy, to leave one of the tables outside. One was cleaning his shoe with a napkin. When they finally left, their dishes and leftovers remained at the table for 10 more minutes until we decided to take it in ourselves.

I had the Tofu Asada Burrito and tried the chilli fries and nachos. The asada burrito is good, I do enjoy raisins in savoury dishes and I found their secret use of beetroot in the burrito to be interesting. The spices used on the chilli fries left a dry feeling on my tongue and the nachos were average. I just don’t get why people like the chilli fries here. The Reverence do better seasoned Mexican fries.

There is a lack of tables for patrons (only 2 outside) and non existent shade outside. My entire right arm and shoulder got extremely sunburnt.

I recommend Trippy Taco to people wearing colourful patterns with a hang over. There is a better Mexican restaurant called Los Amates in Fitzroy.

20131119-032234.jpg20131119-032241.jpg20131119-032249.jpg20131119-032259.jpg

20131119-032325.jpg

 
Trippy Taco on Urbanspoon

One comment

  1. Stacey

    I think that as a mexican restaurant, not amazing but if I were rating vegan burritos this place would definitely win! Perhaps if you asked the hipsters to move they would have?

Leave a Reply

