Prahran 3181: Third Wave Cafe

I was invited as a guest to eat at this new cafe in a side street off Commercial Rd, Prahran. Usually it is a battle to find a park when eating out in Prahran or Windsor due to the busy shopping strip known as Chapel St, however Third Wave cafe is situated next to Safeway car park, making finding a close park a breeze. My good friend I brought along was very glad we found a park with ease and was impressed with the cafe’s modern decor.

The service was attentive, polite and fast. To begin with we ordered soy lattes, the coffee really was ‘superb’ as the advertising for the cafe claims.
The menu was like reading a book, with breakfast, paninis a lunch section, a Russian menu and sweets. Tossing up between the Raspberry and Mascapone panini and the Brie, Fig Jam and Walnuts, I opted for the later. I saw the option for gluten free bread and I took it. Alongside this panini, I ordered the Cherry Cheese Blintzes. The panini contained a considerable amount of cheese, and the fig jam and walnuts went well together. The gluten free bed was the standard gluten free bread from every cafe in Melbourne, the small square and tasteless loaf. The Blintzez were a far more superior dish. The blintzez are similar to a crepe, but thicker. Folded into parcels and filled with the perfect amount of mascapone cheese melted with the cherries, the blintzes were a real treat to eat.

My friend and I were very satisfied with the flavoursome and generous servings at this cafe. When my friend finished her ‘big breakfast’, she said she would certainly come back. So would I. I would love to try the Borsche here, as my Polish friend recently introduced me to this thick sour beetroot soup the morning after drinking expensive wine. Even though my first taste of Borsche was the Maggie soup variety from a packet, it was delicious and I am very impressed Third Wave has it on their menu.

Third Wave cafe likes to mix sweet and savory, with an assortment of dishes available breakfast and lunch. I recommend Third Wave cafe to adventurous diners, as well as those who like to stick to their elementary eggs on toast for breakfast/ lunch.

20131104-231021.jpg

Third Wave Cafe on Urbanspoon

20131105-031048.jpg

20131105-031104.jpg

20131105-031115.jpg
Third Wave Cafe on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

